New chapters to “Gypsy Adventures & Romance”

I have added a few new chapters to my story “Gypsy Adventures & Romance”. To read the newest chapters, click on this link and check it out.

This is chapter 5, which is entitled “Man of Mystery”. I really hope you enjoy it. I also hope that are no errors in my spelling or grammar. Ha. Well, anyways, here is chapter 5 of “Gypsy Adventure & Romance”:

Chapter 5: Man of Mystery

Paris, 6:30 pm

I have finally arrived in Paris. I departed from Captain Crimson and his crew a few hours ago. The good captain sent me on my way with a hardy handshake and a few words of kindness: “You ever need me and my crew again, just look for our boat in the yellow pages, give us a call, and we’ll come sailing. You make one bang-up sailor Mr. Knight.”

I doubt the good captain would think the same thing of me if he known the only other time I sheered a boat, was when I took my godparents’ yacht out for a joyride as a teenager. In any case, I survived the storm and made it safely to Paris. I was able to book a room at a nearby hotel. The room was cheap but it has a lovely view of the Eiffel Tower. I must sleep, I had an eventful afternoon. I will need my strength for tomorrow.

Knight

There was a knock on Knight’s door. He turned to look at it and then got up from the table near the window and crossed the dimly lit room to answer the door. Not including the moonlight coming from outside the windows, the only light in the hotel were coming from wax candles, the same wax candles Knight used in order to see while he wrote his journal entry. Every room had electric lights, however, according to the hotel manager, they often flickered and eventually burned out so the manager decided to keep the lights off. As he was writing, Knight noticed the lights of Paris flicker before going out, making the whole city go into darkness.

He opened the door and was greeted by a small child, most likely twelve years of age, holding a silver tray. “Good Evening, Monsieur. I have brought you your dinner.” The voice has an elegant French ascent, it was also sweet and feminine. The small child must be a girl, however it was difficult to tell because she was wearing brown scarf that covered her forehead and nose. The only thing that can be seen of her face was her innocent ruby colored eyes. Knight made an educated guess that the girl’s family was Muslim. She was wearing black gloves, odd considering the warm weather. Her pink dress was long enough to hide her feet while the short sleeves covered her shoulders.

The tray she was holding had a bowl of cream soup, a spoon neatly placed on a napkin, and a red chocolate cupcake for dessert. “Why, thank you, miss.” Knight said, trying his show the same amount of politeness as the young girl. “Please, think nothing of it, Monsieur.” She said, then handed the tray to Knight. She waited for him to place the tray onto the table before speaking again.

“Is there anything else I can do for you?” She asked.

“No, thank you, I’m quite alright.”

“Very well, Monsieur.” She curtseyed and moved to leave the room.

Knight stopped her. “Wait a moment.”

“Yes, Monsieur?”

“Sorry to trouble you, but I didn’t get your name. May I ask what it is?”

“Oh, it is no trouble at all, Monsieur. You may call me Belle.”

Belle, as in beautiful in the French language. For some reason, Knight thought it was fitting. “Belle, charmed. You may call me Mr. Knight.” He bowed to her.

Belle giggled a bit. “Pleased to meet you, Monsieur Knight.” She stood there for a moment, as if unsure of what else to say, or rather should she say anything. “Um, forgive me for being nosy, Monsieur, but are you a gypsy?”

Knight arched an eyebrow and smiled, looking amused by Belle’s question. “A gypsy?”

“Wee, a gypsy.” Belle said while nodding.

“I’m afraid not, my dear.” He answered.

“Then what are you doing here? You are not from here, no?”

“No, I’m from London. I’m just taking a trip.”

“A trip to where?”

She was clearly curious about him, as most children were when they encounter something new. This might be her first time seeing someone outside of her country. Knight decided to humor the young girl, what harm could it cause? He mentioned for Belle to enter the room. She obeyed and moved to stand next to the foot of the bed. Knight stood in front of her and got down on one knee, meeting her eyes. He spoke in a quiet tone. “Don’t tell anyone this, but I’m following the trail of a woman.”

“Oh, really?” Belle was getting excited. “Are you a detective?”

“Not exactly, but I can see why you might think that.”

“Who is this woman you’re following?”

Knight’s eyes shifted downwards before meeting Belle’s again. “She’s someone very important for me to find, let’s just leave it at that, shall we?”

“Oh! Wee, Monsieur.”

“Good.” He petted the girl’s head. Her eyes closed and she let out an adorable hum.

“May I ask one last question?” Belle asked after opening her eyes again. Knight nodded. “Where is it that you are travelling to next?”

“Well,” Knight said, taking his hand off her head. “First thing in the morning, I’m heading for Rome.”

Belle’s eyes widened. “Rome. Where is that, if I may ask?”

Knight chuckled, he couldn’t help it. She was so adorably naïve and innocent in her questioning, and yet she tried to maintain her politeness, as if she was afraid she would offense him. However, Knight couldn’t see that happening anytime soon. “It’s in Italy, my dear. It’s a country that is not too far from here.”

“So you are going there in order to find an important man?” Belle’s eyes had a sort of sparkle in them. “What a mysterious, yet fascinating life you have.”

Knight was about to speak when what sounded like a French man yelling entered the room. Both Belle and Knight stared at the open door; the yelling took them both from surprise. Belle turned to face Knight, her eyes suddenly looking somber and depress. “I must go.” She said.

“Alright then,” Knight stood up and bowed again to the little girl again. “It was very nice talking to you Belle.”

“Like wise, Monsieur.” With that, she turned around ran back to the door. “I hope you have a pleasant evening, Monsieur Knight.” She curtseyed again and left the room, closing the door behind her.

 

Leave a Reply

